Innovation

Over the years, INSIS has managed to create a network of sustainable partnerships with industry in a wide range of sectors. Today, the institute's innovation policy is implemented through partnerships, patent registrations and start-up companies.

An ambitious partnership and innovation policy

The transformation of knowledge and scientific advances into industrial innovation is one of the INSIS's key missions. The world of industry offers new scientific challenges and in return the research carried out at INSIS makes it possible to get over the major technological obstacles associated with medium- and long-term industrial issues. INSIS has developed targeted and effective methods and resources to meet these challenges.

Transforming research to provide added value for society as a whole

The promotion and technology transfer of INSIS research contributes to improving the competitiveness of companies and to job creation in sectors linked with major societal challenges such as sustainable development, renewable energies, health and quality of life, etc.

In this context, the priority for the INSIS is a long-term partnership research policy to solve industrial obstacles with high scientific and societal stakes.

The INSIS strategy seen from the perspective of the transfer of research results to industry

  • To increase the positive consequences of scientific progress
  • To help find solutions to society's major challenges
  • To support industry
  • To promote and enhance innovation particularly through the early promotion and support of research results
  • To support the creation of start-up companies
  • To encourage public-private sector exchanges

Creating long-lasting sustainable relations with companies

Companies regularly identify technological obstacles involving scientific questions which interest INSIS researchers who can suggest ways of improving situations or resolving problems to companies through their work.

To encourage long-term research, the INSIS has forged lasting links with major groups: PSA, Total, Safran, Airbus, Orange, Essilor, Alstom, Michelin, Thales, EDF, etc. Equally numerous collaborations have been established with small and medium-sized businesses and start-up companies. Contracts and ad hoc structures have been set up to encourage long-term work based on jointly defined objectives.

Joint laboratories

Joint laboratory contracts differ from basic research collaboration contracts in terms of their annual programming activity and governance and are particularly used within INSIS units. The aim of a joint laboratory is to bring structuring projects based on important scientific and industrial issues to fruition. Large corporations and companies can easily make use of this system as is also the case for small and medium-sized companies who mainly use the French National Research Agency's (ANR) LabCom system to do so.

The progress of this bilateral research is largely ensured by the work of young researchers who share their research time between laboratories and companies and receive funding from their theses thanks to the National Association of Research and Technology's (ANRT) Industrial Agreements for Training through Research (Cifre).

The ANRT website

Working with industry brings a lot of added value. Today, I can't do without such partnerships. I couldn't envisage my research outside the ANR LabCom context."
Christophe Vieu, Director of the ANR LabCom Biosoft (Innopsys/LAAS-CNRS)

Diversified forms of collaboration

Other effective relationships between industry and INSIS laboratories are organized and managed on the basis of industrial chairs, scientific interest groups (GIS) and research networks (GDR).

There are numerous other collaboration projects within the framework of competitiveness clusters, the Carnot Institutes, the Technological Research Institutes (IRT) and the French Institutes for Energy Transition (ITE) and so forth.

Finally, the Initial Support for Exploratory Projects Programme (Peps) enables companies to assess the relevance of their long-term strategy on futuristic technologies (open innovation). Peps programmes with specific themes are co-organized and managed every year by INSIS as is the case with the partnership with the Total group for example.

In figures

  • 3 joint research units (UMRs) in partnership with major industrial companies including one international collaboration project.
  • 62 joint research laboratories (LCRs) including 25 in partnership with major industrial companies, 24 with small and medium-sized companies (19 ANR LabComs), 4 with technical centres and 9 with EPICs-EPSTs1 including two international collaboration projects.
  • 44 INSIS laboratories are part of 13 Carnot Institutes and 4 Carnot tremplins2 .
  • 1Public establishments of an industrial and commercial nature/Public scientific and technological institutions
  • 2Carnot research support programmes

How this approach is applied internationally

International industrial partnerships have also been set up as is illustrated by the creation of two structures specializing in nanotechnologies. These are the CINTRA International Joint Unit based in Singapore which is a joint project managed with the Thales Group and Nanyang Technological University and the joint laboratory set up on the basis of an agreement between ST Microelectronics and the LN2 International Joint Unit based at the Université de Sherbrooke in Canada.

In Japan, there is a Joint Research Programme linking the Tokyo-based JRL International Joint Unit and Airbus as part of a structuring collaboration in the field of robotics.

Encouraging technology transfer

Technology transfer frequently results from company-laboratory collaboration projects. In this framework, the intellectual protection of research results on patents, software and know-how is strongly encouraged. Around twenty operating licenses are signed annually by the Institute. The INSIS has also set up a network of "technology transfer" partners within its laboratories to exchange and inform researchers about best practices related to promotion and transfer, protecting results and economic intelligence.

100 à 150 Brevets

Publications par an.

15 Logiciels

Dépôts à l'Agence de protection des programmes (APP) par an.

Investing in start-up companies created by researchers

The research carried out at the INSIS into both concepts at their earliest stages and systems close to being ready for application also has a significant socio-economic impact which results in the creation of highly innovative companies.

Since 1999, the CNRS has created or taking part in setting up over than 1000 start-up companies to enhance the value of its laboratories research. Of these, 319 are the result of research conducted by INSIS laboratories with 262 still in operation.

These start-up companies have regularly received awards in competitions which support the creation of innovative companies. Rheonova and ThrustMe won the i-LAB 2017 competition while Abbelight was among the 8 winners of the 2017 Start-up Connexion.

20 à 25 Start-up créées par an

Les unités INSIS réalisent entre un quart et un tiers de l'activité de partenariat industriel et innovation des unités du CNRS.

Success strory: Econick

Econick was set up in August 2016 by a researcher from the Reaction and Process Engineering Laboratory (LRGP) in Nancy and specializes in the production of nickel from wall alyssum, a "hyper-accumulative" plant.

One of this plant's properties is that it extracts metals from soils and stores them in its leaves and stems. After combustion, these represent 15 to 20% of its weight. The company's patented recovery process gives a yield of 100 kilograms of nickel per hectare. It could be extended to be used with other plants and to produce other metals (zinc, cadmium, cobalt).

The pre-maturity programme

The CNRS has set up an early-stage development programme whose objective is to support the initial development stages of emerging projects with high innovation potential. The aim is to support the pre-maturity stage by providing recommendations and the necessary financial resources.

Project leaders are invited to submit their projects to the Partnership and Innovation pole of their unit's main Institute. Proposals from researchers, professors or engineers working at CNRS research units are eligible.

Since its inception in 2015, the pre-maturity programme has given a total of €2 million in funding to 22 projects from INSIS units.

Vague 1 :

Date limite soumission des dossiers à l'INSIS :
20 novembre 2019

Vague 2 :

Date limite soumission des dossiers à l'INSIS :
29 janvier 2020

Vague 3 :

Date limite soumission des dossiers à l'INSIS :
25 mars 2020

Vague 4 :

Date limite soumission des dossiers à l'INSIS :
27 mai 2020

Vague 5 :

Date limite soumission des dossiers à l'INSIS :
26 août 2020

Vague 6 :

Date limite soumission des dossiers à l'INSIS :
30 juillet 2021

Vague 7 :

Date limite soumission des dossiers à l'INSIS :
1er octobre 2021

A reminder of the selection process for pre-maturity projects at the CNRS

  • INSIS:
    The INSIS Management Committee makes an initial selection among the proposals received by the Institute. The framework paper and submission form are available from your unit's Partnership/Innovation Correspondent. The INSIS's Partnership and Innovation Section is at your disposal if you have any questions.

     
  • CNRS Inter-Institute Scientific Board:
    A pre-selection of the projects submitted to the CNRS is carried out in the presence of representatives of all 10 CNRS Institutes, the CNRS Innovation Office (DGDI) and CNRS Innovation for aspects linked to intellectual property.

     
  • Steering Committee (COPIL):
    The pre-selected project leaders are interviewed at CNRS headquarters by a jury made up of industrial actors, investors and representatives of the Innovation ecosystem. The Steering Committee then makes its recommendations.

     
  • The final decision:
    This is taken by the CNRS President and CEO and takes 2 to 3 weeks after the jury interview.

Contact

Partenariat CNRS Ingénierie

Innovation news from the INSIS

Find out about recent innovations by CNRS engineering and systems sciences laboratories.

CNRS Innovation

Innovation

L’INSIS a su tisser au fil des années un réseau de partenariats durables avec les acteurs industriels dans un large domaine sectoriel. Aujourd’hui, la politique d’innovation de l’institut se décline au travers de partenariats, de dépôts de brevets et de créations de start-up.

Une politique ambitieuse de partenariat et d'innovation

La transformation de la connaissance et des avancés scientifiques en innovation industrielle est une des missions clés de l’INSIS. Le monde industriel propose de nouveaux défis scientifiques, et, en retour, la recherche menée à l’INSIS permet de lever les verrous technologiques majeurs associés aux enjeux industriels à moyen et long terme. L’INSIS a développé des méthodes et des moyens ciblés et efficaces pour répondre à ces enjeux.

Transformer la recherche en valeur pour la société

La valorisation des recherches de l’INSIS contribue à l'amélioration de la compétitivité des entreprises et à la création d'emplois dans des secteurs liés aux grands défis de société : développement durable, énergies renouvelables, santé et qualité de vie, etc.

Dans ce cadre, l’INSIS privilégie une politique de recherche partenariale de long terme sur des verrous industriels à fort enjeu scientifique et sociétal.

La stratégie de l’INSIS vue sous l’angle de la valorisation des résultats

  • Augmenter les retombées des avancées scientifiques
  • Contribuer aux solutions des grands défis des sociétés
  • Soutenir l’industrie
  • Favoriser l’innovation notamment par la pré-maturation de résultats amont
  • Soutenir la création de start-up
  • Inciter aux échanges public-privé

Tisser des relations durables avec les entreprises

Les entreprises identifient régulièrement des verrous technologiques qui soulèvent des questionnements scientifiques d’intérêt pour les chercheurs de l’INSIS. Par leurs travaux, ceux-ci proposent des pistes d’amélioration ou de résolution aux entreprises.

Pour favoriser les recherches de long terme, l’INSIS a tissé des liens durables avec des grands groupes : PSA, Total, Safran, Airbus, Orange, Essilor, Alsthom, Michelin, Thales, EDF, etc. Des collaborations, tout aussi nombreuses, se nouent avec des PME-ETI et des start-up. Des contrats et des structures ad hoc ont été mis en place pour favoriser le travail de long terme sur des objectifs fixés en commun.

Les laboratoires communs

Le contrat de laboratoire commun  – qui se distingue du simple contrat de collaboration de recherche de par son activité de programmation annuelle et sa gouvernance  – est particulièrement utilisé au sein des unités de l’INSIS. Le laboratoire commun a pour but de faire aboutir des projets structurants à forts enjeux scientifiques et industriels. Si les grands groupes ont facilement recours à ce dispositif, c’est également le cas des PME-ETI, majoritairement par le biais du dispositif LabCom de l’Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR).

Les progrès de ces recherches bilatérales sont largement associés aux jeunes chercheurs qui partagent leur temps de recherche entre le laboratoire et l’entreprise, finançant leurs thèses grâce aux conventions industrielles de formation par la recherche (Cifre) de l’Association nationale de la recherche et de la technologie (ANRT)

Voir le site de l’ANRT

Travailler avec un industriel apporte beaucoup de valeur ajoutée. Aujourd’hui, je ne peux plus m’en passer. Je ne pourrais pas envisager mes recherches en dehors du LabCom ANR.
Christophe Vieu, directeur du LabCom ANR Biosoft (Innopsys/LAAS)

Des formules de collaboration diversifiées

D’autres relations efficaces entre industriels et laboratoires de l’INSIS se déclinent en chaires industrielles, groupements d’intérêt scientifique (GIS) et groupements de recherche (GDR).

De nombreuses autres collaborations s'inscrivent dans le cadre des pôles de compétitivité, des Instituts Carnot, des Instituts de recherche technologique (IRT), des Instituts de transition de l’énergie (ITE), etc.

Enfin, les projets exploratoires premier soutien (Peps) permettent aux entreprises d’évaluer la pertinence de leur stratégie à long terme sur des technologies futuristes (open innovation). Des programmes Peps à thématiques spécifiques sont co-organisés et gérés par l’INSIS chaque année, comme avec le groupe Total, par exemple.

En chiffres

  • 3 unités mixtes de recherche (UMR) avec de grands groupes –- dont 1 à l'international
  • 62 laboratoires communs de recherche (LCR) dont 25 avec de grands groupes, 24 avec des PME-ETI (19 LabCom ANR), 4 avec des centres techniques et 9 avec des EPIC-EPST – dont 2 à l’international.
  • 44 laboratoires INSIS présents dans 13 Instituts Carnot et 4 tremplins Carnot

Décliner cette approche à l'international

À l’international, des partenariats industriels sont également conclus, comme l’illustre la création de deux structures spécialisées en nanotechnologies : l'UMI CINTRA, basée à Singapour et partagée avec Thales et Nanyang Technological University ; le laboratoire commun signé entre ST Microelectronics et l’UMI LN2, basée à l’université de Sherbrooke au Canada.

Au Japon, le Joint Research Program lie l’UMI JRL basée à Tokyo et Airbus dans le cadre d’une collaboration structurante dans le domaine de la robotique.

Encourager les transferts de technologie

Les collaborations entreprises-laboratoires engendrent fréquemment des transferts de technologie.  À ce titre, la protection intellectuelle des résultats de la recherche sur les brevets, logiciels et savoir-faire est fortement encouragée. Une vingtaine de licences d’exploitation sont ainsi signées chaque année au niveau de l’institut. Au sein de ses laboratoires, l’INSIS a par ailleurs missionné un réseau des partenaires « valorisation » afin d’échanger et d’informer les chercheurs sur les bonnes pratiques liées à la valorisation, la protection des résultats et à l’intelligence économique.

Période 2013-2015
 

  • 422 brevets publiés (19 % des brevets CNRS)
  • 29 logiciels déposés (20 % des logiciels CNRS)

Investir dans des start-up créées par les chercheurs

La recherche menée à l’INSIS, tant sur des concepts « amont » que sur des systèmes proches de l’application, a également un impact socio-économique important se traduisant par la création d’entreprises fortement innovantes.

Depuis 1999, le CNRS a créé ou participé à la création de plus de 1 000 start-up afin de valoriser les recherches menées par les laboratoires. Parmi elles, 319 sont issues des recherches des laboratoires rattachés à l'INSIS ; 262 sont toujours en activité.

Ces start-up sont régulièrement récompensées dans des concours de soutien aux créations d’entreprises innovantes : Rheonova et ThrustMe ont ainsi été lauréates du concours i-LAB 2017, Abbelight figurait parmi les 8 lauréates de Start-up Connexion 2017.

Success strory : Econick

Créée en août 2016 par une chercheuse du Laboratoire réactions et génie des procédés (LRGP) de Nancy, Econick est spécialisée dans la production de nickel à partir d'une plante « hyperaccumulatrice » : l'alyssum murale.

Celle-ci a la propriété d'extraire les métaux contenus dans le sol et de les stocker dans ses feuilles et ses tiges. Après combustion, ils représentent de 15 à 20 % de son poids. Le procédé de récupération, breveté, offre un rendement de 100 kilos de nickel par hectare. Il pourrait être étendu à d'autres plantes et d’autres métaux (zinc, cadmium, cobalt).

Le programme de prématuration

Le CNRS met en place un programme de prématuration dont l’objectif est de soutenir les toutes premières étapes de développement de projets émergents à fort potentiel d’innovation. Il s’agit d’accompagner l’étape de prématuration en fournissant des recommandations et les moyens financiers pour y arriver.

Les porteurs de projet sont invités à se rapprocher du pôle Partenariat et innovation de leur institut de rattachement afin de faire connaître leur proposition. Sont éligibles les propositions émanant de chercheurs, enseignants/chercheurs ou ingénieurs relevant d’une unité de recherche rattachée au CNRS.

Depuis sa création en 2015, le programme de prématuration a financé 15 projets issus des unités INSIS pour plus de 1,2 M€ au total.

Plusieurs vagues de sélection

Quatre vagues de sélection sont prévues, nous vous remercions dans la mesure du possible de nous communiquer les fiches projet au fil de l’eau.

Les dates des comités scientifiques et de pilotage seront indiquées au fur et à mesure sur cette page.

Vague 1 :

Date butoir soumission INSIS :
lundi 24 décembre 2018

Date du comité scientifique :
mercredi 23 janvier 2019

Date du comité de pilotage :
mercredi 6 février 2019

Vague 2 :

Date butoir soumission INSIS :
vendredi 8 mars 2019

Date du comité scientifique :
mercredi 3 avril 2019

Date du comité de pilotage :
mardi 16 avril 2019

Vague 3 :

Date butoir soumission INSIS :
vendredi 3 mai 2019

Date du comité scientifique :
mardi 28 mai 2019

Date du comité de pilotage :
mardi 18 juin 2019

Vague 4 :

Date butoir soumission INSIS :
vendredi 6 septembre 2019

Date du comité scientifique :
mardi 1er octobre 2019

Date du comité de pilotage :
mercredi 16 octobre 2019

Le processus de sélection

  • Réception des projets :
    Les projets, visés par le DU, sont reçus à l’INSIS.
    Veuillez nous demander la note de cadrage ainsi que la fiche projet à compléter.
     

  • Pré-sélection :
    Les projets sont analysés à l’INSIS, sur la base de la qualité scientifique (DAS) et sur le positionnement au regard du programme de prématuration. Selon les expertises mises en jeu et le secteur d’application visé, un avis d’un autre Institut que l’INSIS pourra être demandé.
    2 à 3 projets maximum sont proposés pour pré-sélection au comité scientifique. Ce dernier est composé d’un représentant de chaque Institut du CNRS.
     

  • Audition des projets présélectionnés :
    Les porteurs de projets présélectionnés par le comité scientifique sont invités à venir présenter leur projet.Le jury est composé de personnalités du monde socio-économique (investisseurs, industriels de divers secteurs d’activité).
     

  • Démarrage du projet :
    Le projet peut démarrer dans les 2-3 mois qui suivent l’audition.
    Le projet peut être accepté sous réserve de vérification préalable de questions liées à la propriété intellectuelle et/ou d’ajout de tâches demandées par le comité de pilotage.
    Une réunion de lancement est organisée par la Direction de l'innovation et des relations avec les entreprises (DRE) du CNRS.

Contact

Partenariat INSIS

Les actualités Innovation de l'INSIS

Découvrez les innovations récentes des laboratoires en sciences de l'ingénierie et des systèmes du CNRS.

En savoir plus