International

The INSIS is strongly involved in the CNRS's international strategy. It extends its expertise through numerous collaborations with foreign partners. The INSIS is present on all continents, using CNRS cooperation tools, from IEA exploratory actions (e.g. PICS and PRC) to the creation of IRL international laboratories (e.g. UMI), IRP international projects (e.g. LIA) or IRN international networks (e.g. GDRI). The INSIS also participates actively in the European Research and Technological H2020 Development Framework Programme.

International affairs, a priority for the INSIS

A discipline which is strongly involved in major societal challenges

In an international scientific context that is inseparable from the socio-economic world and the challenges facing society, the INSIS is developing its international strategy around four objectives:

  • Developing, consolidating and bringing international collaborations to fruition
  • Investing for the future and contributing to collective and world-wide progress
  • Encouraging, structuring and supporting unit directors and researchers in their international collaborations
  • For Europe, supporting national partnerships and networks (GDR, GIS, federations, etc.) so that they can serve as platforms for European projects.

A strong international presence

With its 6 IRL International research laboratories (e.g. UMI), its 20 IRP International research programmes (e.g. LIA), its 8 IRN International research networks and the funding of 45 IEA International exploratory actions (e.g. PICS and PRC), the INSIS is present on all continents and has research collaborations with more than 30 countries, both emerging and reference countries in the field of engineering. More than 45% of the INSIS publications are co-authored with international partners.

6 IRL

International research laboratory (dont 6 ex.UMI)

20 IRP

International research project (ex. LIA)

8 IRN

International research network

45 IEA

International exploratory actions (ex. PICS et PRC)

Présence internationale INSIS par thématique (2018) / © INSIS Communication

The key role of international research laboratories (IRL)

An international influence

These joint research units outside of France make a major contribution to the CNRS's reputation abroad. As genuine research units established abroad (or more rarely in France), they structure strategic scientific cooperation with both academic and industrial partners with high international visibility.

The IRLs are the flagship tool of the CNRS's international strategy. The INSIS is piloting six of them, some of which have existed for more than 20 years:

  • The LIMMS (micro- and nanotechnologies) with the Institute of Industrial Sciences of the University of Tokyo;
  • The JRL (robotics) with the AIST of the University of Tokyo;
  • ElyT-MaX (materials) with Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan;
  • CINTRA with Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, (micro- and nanotechnology, photonics);
  • GeorgiaTech (secure networks and intelligent materials), Atlanta and Metz;
  • The LN2 (micro- and nanotechnologies) with the Université de Sherbrooke, Québec, Canada.

Several of them have strong links with industrialists: CINTRA is co-managed with Thales, the LN2 has a joint laboratory with St Microelectronics and a joint laboratory is currently being set up between Georgiatech and PSA.

Latest creation: the ElyT-MaX UMI

ElyT-MaX was created on January 1, 2016. It brings together the CNRS Institute for Engineering and Systems Sciences, the University of Lyon and Tohoku University. Based in Sendai, Japan, its research focuses on the behaviour of materials in extreme conditions: pressure, temperature, irradiation or a highly corrosive environment.

One of the main objectives of the research carried out in the UMI is to understand the mechanisms of degradation of materials over time in order to better evaluate their life spans and devise strategies to protect or repair surfaces used in industry.

A strategy focused on target countries with high scientific potential

For its future international actions, the INSIS wants to develop structuring collaborations with four countries that are at the top world level in engineering sciences but which currently have few structured collaborations: Australia, South Korea, India and Taiwan.

The INSIS in "Horizon 2020"

An important involvement in the European Framework Programme Horizon 2020

The INSIS laboratories participate actively in the European Horizon 2020 framework programme and thus contribute to the construction of the European Research Area. On the three pillars of H2020, Scientific Excellence and Industrial Primacy and Societal Challenges, the INSIS has been particularly involved in calls to tender under pillar 1, notably the ERC and MSCA calls, with a very good success rate.

An ERC unit set up in 2014 works with units and researchers to inform, identify and support potential candidates. Since the beginning of H2020, this ERC unit has organized mock oral sessions in preparation for the hearing in Brussels for the Consolidator and Starting calls. Since 2014, the start of H2020, it has accompanied approximately 90 researchers and lecturer-researchers in their preparation for the Brussels oral examinations. Forty-six of these candidates obtained their ERC award.

To help it in its mission, the ERC unit relies on the network of ERC-INSIS prize winners that was created in 2015 (more than 70 researchers).

Image removed.
Flamme laminaire prémélangée, stabilisée sur un cylindre tournant dans le sens des aiguilles d’une montre, dans le dispositif expérimental INTRIG. Construit dans le cadre du projet européen ERC INTECOCIS, ce dispositif produit une flamme qui permet d’étudier les interactions complexes entre la combustion, l’acoustique et la thermique.
© Cyril FRESILLON - IMFT - CNRS Photothèque

 

The ERC allows me to finally work over the long-term. It is extremely stimulating. Everything is accelerating. The doors are opening.
Sylvie Lorthois, Institut de mécanique des fluides de Toulouse (IMFT), ERC "Consolidator Grant" winner 2013

International

Fortement impliqué dans la stratégie internationale du CNRS, l’INSIS étend son expertise à travers de nombreuses collaborations avec des partenaires étrangers. L’INSIS est présent sur tous les continents, utilisant les outils de coopération du CNRS, de l’action exploratoire-IEA (ex PICS et PRC) à la création de laboratoires internationaux-IRL (ex UMI) en passant par des projets internationaux-IRP (ex LIA) ou des réseaux internationaux-IRN (ex GDRI). L’INSIS participe aussi activement au programme cadre de recherche et de développement technologique européen, H2020.

L’international, une priorité pour l’INSIS

Une discipline fortement impliquée dans les grands défis de société

Dans un contexte scientifique international indissociable du monde socio-économique et des enjeux de société, l’INSIS développe sa stratégie internationale autour de quatre objectifs :

  • Développer, consolider et faire fructifier les collaborations internationales
  • Investir pour le futur et contribuer au progrès collectif et mondial
  • Inciter, structurer et accompagner les directeurs d’unités et les chercheurs dans leurs collaborations internationales
  • Pour l’Europe, accompagner les partenariats et réseaux nationaux (GDR, GIS, fédération, etc.) afin qu’ils puissent servir de plateforme à des projets européens.

Une présence internationale forte

Avec ses 6 International research laboratory-IRL (ex.UMI), ses 20 International research programme-IRP (ex. LIA), ses 8 International research network-IRN et le financement de 45 International exploratory actions-IEA (ex. PICS et PRC), l’INSIS est présent sur tous les continents et a des collaborations de recherche avec plus de 30 pays, qu’ils soient en émergence ou de référence dans le domaine de l’ingénierie. Plus de 45 % des publications de l’INSIS sont co-signées avec des partenaires internationaux.

6 IRL

International research laboratory (dont 6 ex.UMI)

20 IRP

International research project (ex. LIA)

8 IRN

International research network

45 IEA

International exploratory actions (ex. PICS et PRC)

Présence internationale INSIS par thématique (2018) / © INSIS Communication

Le rôle-clé des laboratoires internationaux de recherche (IRL)

Un rayonnement international

Ces UMR hors de France contribuent grandement à la notoriété du CNRS à l’étranger. Véritables unités de recherche implantées à l’étranger (ou plus rarement en France), elles structurent des coopérations scientifiques stratégiques avec des partenaires à haute visibilité internationale, académiques comme industriels.

Les IRL sont l’outil phare de la stratégie internationale du CNRS. L'INSIS en pilote six dont certains existent depuis plus de 20 ans :

  • le LIMMS (micro- et nanotechnologies) avec l’Institut des sciences industrielles de l’université de Tokyo ;
  • le JRL (robotique) avec l’AIST de l’université de Tokyo ;
  • ElyT-MaX (matériaux) avec l’université du Tohoku à Sendai au Japon ;
  • CINTRA avec la Nanyang Technological University à Singapour (micro- et nanotechnologies, photonique) ;
  • GeorgiaTech (réseaux sécurisés et matériaux intelligents) à Atlanta et Metz ;
  • le LN2 (micro- et nanotechnologies) au Canada avec l’université de Sherbrooke au Canada.

Plusieurs d’entre elles ont un lien fort avec des industriels : CINTRA  est co-gérée avec Thales, le LN2 a un laboratoire commun avec St Microelectronics et un laboratoire commun est en cours de création entre Georgiatech et PSA.

Dernière création : l'UMI ElyT-MaX

Créée au 1er janvier 2016, ElyT-MaX associe l’Institut des sciences de l’ingénierie et des systèmes du CNRS, l’université de Lyon et l’université de Tohoku. Basée à Sendai au Japon, ses recherches portent sur le comportement des matériaux en conditions extrêmes: pression, température, irradiation ou encore un environnement hautement corrosif.

L'un des objectifs principaux des recherches menées dans l’UMI consiste à comprendre les mécanismes de dégradation des matériaux au fil du temps pour mieux évaluer leur durée de vie et imaginer des stratégies de protection ou de cicatrisation des surfaces utilisées dans l’industrie.

Une stratégie tournée vers des pays cibles, à fort potentiel scientifique

Pour ses actions internationales futures, l’INSIS souhaite développer des collaborations structurantes avec cinq pays au meilleur niveau mondial en sciences de l’ingénierie mais pour lesquels il n’existe aujourd’hui que peu de collaborations structurées : l’Australie, la Corée du Sud, l’Inde et Taïwan.

L’INSIS dans « Horizon 2020 »

Une implication importante dans le programme-cadre européen Horizon 2020

Les laboratoires de l’INSIS participent activement au programme cadre européen Horizon 2020 et contribue ainsi à la construction de l’Espace européen de la recherche. Sur les trois piliers d’H2020, Excellence scientifique, Primauté industrielle et Défis de société, l’INSIS s’est particulièrement investi dans les appels du pilier 1, notamment dans les appels ERC et MSCA, avec un très bon taux de succès.

Une cellule ERC mise en place en 2014 agit auprès des unités et des chercheurs pour informer, identifier et accompagner les candidats potentiels. Cette cellule ERC organise depuis le début d’H2020 des sessions d’oraux blancs préparatoires à l’audition à Bruxelles pour les appels Consolidator et Starting Grants. Depuis 2014, début d’H2020, elle a accompagné environ 90 chercheurs et enseignants chercheurs dans leur préparation à l’audition Bruxelles, 46 ont obtenu leur ERC.

Pour l’aider dans sa mission, la cellule ERC s’appuie sur le réseau des lauréats ERC INSIS (plus de 70 chercheurs) créé en 2015.

Image retirée.
Flamme laminaire prémélangée, stabilisée sur un cylindre tournant dans le sens des aiguilles d’une montre, dans le dispositif expérimental INTRIG. Construit dans le cadre du projet européen ERC INTECOCIS, ce dispositif produit une flamme qui permet d’étudier les interactions complexes entre la combustion, l’acoustique et la thermique.
© Cyril FRESILLON - IMFT - CNRS Photothèque

 

L’ERC me permet enfin de travailler dans la durée. C’est extrêmement stimulant. Tout s’accélère. Les portes s’ouvrent.
Sylvie Lorthois, Institut de mécanique des fluides de Toulouse (IMFT), lauréate ERC « Consolidator Grant » 2013